"Science for Religion Reporters" Award Application

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q. I work for a media outlet that is not headquartered in the United States. Am I eligible for the award?

A. Yes, but all award recipients are responsible for their own travel and lodging expenses and arrangements.

Q. If my work appears in a language other than English, must I include a translation with my entry?

A. Yes, an English translation is mandatory.

Q: I work for a state-funded news organization. Am I eligible?

A. The news outlet must be editorially independent. Questions about eligibility are decided by the awards administrator in consultation with the Managing Committee (an advisory panel of science and religion journalists and former journalists.)

Q. Are commentaries or articles in advocacy publications eligible for the award?

A. No.

Q. Are books eligible as work samples?

No, books, book chapters, and e-books are not eligible.

Q. Are stories written by public information officers or freelancers for university-funded research magazines or Web sites eligible as work samples?

A. No. The Managing Committee has determined that such publications are not eligible for the awards.

Q. Are podcasts eligible for the award?

A. Some podcasts are eligible for consideration. They must be news podcasts aimed at a general audience and prepared by reporters. Institutional podcasts from university news or research offices, or podcasts featuring news as well as other types of segments are not eligible.

Q. Are blogs eligible?

A. Yes. The judges will determine whether a blog entry meets the standards of professional journalism and is accessible to a general audience.

Q. Do you accept pieces with joint bylines?

A. Yes. However, if a submitted work is not the creation of a sole author or creator, all co-authors or co-creators should be identified in the entry, with a lead entrant clearly identified. Regardless of whether a work is the creation of a sole author/creator or joint author/creators, only one prize per entry may be awarded, and will awarded to the lead entrant. Any apportionment with co-authors or co-creators is the sole responsibility of a winner.